Michael Klompas, MD, MPH, FRCPC

Dr. Michael Klompas is the Associate Hospital Epidemiologist at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston.  He attends on the infectious disease and internal medicine services of Brigham and Women’s Hospital. 

Stephan Harbarth, MD, MS

Prof. Stephan Harbarth works in the Infection Control Programme at Geneva University Hospitals, Geneva (CH).  Stephan Harbarth earned in 1993 his medical degree from Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich, Germany, and completed his residency in internal medicine and tropical medicine at Munich University Hospitals.

Jennifer Hanrahan, DO, MSc

Jennifer Hanrahan, DO, MSc is an associate professor, Infectious Disease, and Chair of the Infection Prevention Committee at MetroHealth Medical Center in Cleveland. She is also Medical Director of the Special Disease Care Unit at MetroHealth Medical Center.

Nasia Safdar, MD, PhD

Nasia Safdar, MD, PhD is an associate professor, Infectious Disease, and Vice Chair for Research for the Department of Medicine at the University of Wisconsin. She chairs the department’s research committee, which develops and oversees policies for pilot project funding, bridge funding, and the capital exercise process.

Yoko Furuya, MD, MS

Dr. E. Yoko Furuya is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Columbia University Medical Center in the Division of Infectious Diseases (ID) and serves as Medical Director of Infection Prevention & Control and Director of Antibiotic Stewardship for all New York-Presbyterian Hospital Campuses.

W. Matthew Linam, MD, MS

W. Matthew Linam, MD, MS, graduated medical school from the University Of Tennessee College of Medicine in 2001. He completed his pediatric residency training at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center in 2004 and was chief resident in 2005.

Belinda E. Ostrowsky, MD

Dr. Ostrowsky earned her MD from the State University of New York Stony Brook School of Medicine, after which she trained in Internal Medicine at the Mayo Clinic and in ID at the Beth Israel-Deaconess Medical Center.

Sara E. Cosgrove, MD, MS, FSHEA

Sara E. Cosgrove, MD, MS, is a Professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Disease at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and has a joint appointment in the Department of Epidemiology at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

David Banach, MD, MPH

Dr. David Banach is an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine where he serves as Head of Infection Prevention and Hospital Epidemiologist for UConn Health.

Daniel J. Sexton, MD, FIDSA, FSHEA

Daniel J. Sexton, MD, is a graduate of the Northwestern University School of Medicine. He is currently a Professor of Medicine at the Duke University School of Medicine. He spent two years as an Epidemic Intelligence Service Officer at the CDC in the early 1970s.

Elizabeth S. Dodds Ashley, PharmD, MHS

Elizabeth S. Dodds Ashley, PharmD, MHS, is currently a liaison pharmacist with the Duke Antimicrobial Stewardship Outreach Network (DASON) based at Duke University.  She received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the Bouvé College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at Northeastern University, Boston, Massachusetts. 

Susan A. Dolan, RN MS CIC FAPIC

Susan A. Dolan, RN MS CIC FAPIC a long time SHEA member is the 2016 President for the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology(APIC).

Judy Guzman-Cottrill, DO

Dr. Judy Guzman-Cottrill is a Professor of Pediatrics at Oregon Health & Science University, where she has been a faculty member in the Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases since 2004. From 2004-2015, she served as co-chair of the Infection Prevention and Control Committee and as the Pediatric Medical Director of Infection Control at Doernbecher Children's Hospital in Portland, OR.

Dev Anderson, MD, MPH, FSHEA, FIDSA

Dr. Dev Anderson is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Duke University Medical Center.

He graduated from Duke University School of Medicine in 2001. He completed his Internal Medicine residency (2004) and Infectious Disease fellowship (2006) at Duke University Medical Center and subsequently received his MPH in Epidemiology from the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health in 2007.

Hitoshi Honda MD, PhD is an infectious diseases consultant and a hospital epidemiologist at the Tokyo Metropolitan Tama Medical Center, Tokyo, Japan.

He received his MD and PhD from the Kitasato University School of Medicine, Japan in 2000. He completed the internal medicine residency at University of Hawaii in 2007 and then completed an infectious diseases fellowship and healthcare epidemiology fellowship under the tutelage of Drs. David Warren and Victoria Fraser at Washington University in St. Louis, MO.

Surbhi Leekha MBBS, MPH, is an Infectious Diseases physician, Assistant Professor in the Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, and Medical Director for Infection Prevention and Hospital Epidemiology at the University of Maryland Medical Center. She devotes most of her professional effort to day-to-day hospital epidemiology practice.

Robin Jump, MD, PhD

Dr. Robin Jump is a physician-scientist with the Geriatric Research, Education and Clinical Center (GRECC) and the Louis Stokes Cleveland Veterans Affairs Medical Center. She is also an Assistant Professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases and HIV Medicine at Case Western Reserve University.

Hanan Balkhy, MD

Dr. Hanan Balkhy is a graduate of King Abdulaziz University in Jeddah, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. She completed her pediatric residency at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston USA 1993-1996; followed by a pediatric infectious diseases fellowship training from 1996-1999 from a joint program of the Cleveland Clinic Foundation and Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio. Dr. Balkhy is American board certified in both Pediatrics and Pediatric Infectious Disease.

Carol Kauffman, MD

Dr Kauffman is Professor of Internal Medicine at the University of Michigan Medical School and Chief of the Infectious Diseases Section at the Veterans Affairs Ann Arbor Healthcare System. She received her undergraduate degree from the Pennsylvania State University, attended medical school at the University of Michigan, where she also trained in Internal Medicine, and was a Fellow in Infectious Diseases at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center.


Dr. Louise Dembry is the incoming President of SHEA. She joined SHEA in 1993 as an Infectious Diseases Fellow and served on various SHEA committees and task forces. She was the Scientific Program chair of the 2004 Annual Meeting and chaired the Publications Committee 2007-2010. She participated in several SHEA review groups and served as faculty for the SHEA/CDC course for many years as well as the HAI Regional Training program. She was SHEA Treasurer 2010-2012 and returned to the SHEA Board as Vice President in 2014. She participated in the creation of the SHEA Education and Research Foundation (ERF) while Treasurer and has continued to serve on the SHEA ERF Board through 2015. She has been a member of the Week Planning Committee for the last three years and has served as an abstract reviewer.